To view, Spalding County Commission meetings live: CLICK HERE  or inSpalding TV CLICK HERE




February 11th, 2016

Spalding County 4-H President Carrianna Simmons served in her role as the Northwest District Representative of the Georgia 4-H State Board of Directors on 4-H Day at the Georgia State Capitol, Wednesday, February 3, 2016. Over 400 4-H’ers had the opportunity to schedule a visit with their legislators, to experience the top 4-H’ers being honored in the house and senate, to hear State 4-H President Ben Lord address both houses of the legislature, and to be recognized in Resolutions from both the House and Senate.

The day included speeches from Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle, Georgia Department of Agriculture Commissioner Gary Black, Ms. Tess Hammock, former 4-H’er and Miss Warner Robins 2015, and Mrs. Anne Sapp of the Georgia 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees. Georgia 4-H State Board members served as greeters during the event and worked behind the scenes. The event including a luncheon, catered by Rock Eagle 4-H Center and sponsored by the Georgia 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees, which provided some 4-H youth the opportunity to meet and eat with the legislators who attended.

At the end of the day, the entire 4-H delegation from over thirty counties and invited guests gathered for a group photograph with supporters and friends of 4-H. In addition to Georgia 4-H’ers this photo includes: Lt. Governor Casey Cagle, Senator John F. Kennedy, Representative John Deffenbaugh, Senator Tyler Harper, Representative Rick Jasperse, Senator Frank Ginn, Senator Greg Kirk, Senator Bill Heath, Representative John Corbett, Representative Amy Carter, Representative Tom McCall, Representative Buddy Harden, Representative Terry England, Representative Jan Tankersley, Representative Patty Bentley, Senator Mike Dugan, Abit Massey, President Emeritus Georgia Poultry Federation, Mike Giles of 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees, Joe Burns Georgia 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees, Brandie Rucks Park Georgia 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees, Jerry Griffin Georgia 4-H Foundation Board of Trustees, and Johnelle Simpson UGA Student Government Association President and Georgia 4- H Foundation Board of Trustees.

Governor Nathan Deal welcomed the Georgia 4-H State Board of Directors to his office during 4-H Day at the Capitol.

Pictured l-r: Ben Lord, President, Ben Hill County; Maggie Plott, Union County, Carrianna Simmons, Northwest District Representative, Spalding County; Julie Bacon, Southeast District Representative, Tattnall County; Ben Murray, Southwest District Representative, Berrien County; Governor Nathan Deal; Mackenzie Wurst; Northeast District Representative, Clarke County; Elizabeth Hanson, Vice-President, Pike County; Trent Whisenant, Murray County, and Zach Tellano, Hart County.

Spalding County, GA