ON THURSDAY MAY 14, 2020 PROBATE COURT WILL OPEN FOR APPLICATIONS FOR WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. A MASK WILL BE REQUIRED TO ENTER PROBATE COURT. Go to georgiaprobaterecords.com to fill out your applicaton then call for an appontment.
MARRIAGE LICENSE WILL STILL BE DONE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. A MASK WILL BE REQUIRED TO ENTER PROBATE COURT. Go to georgiaprobaterecords.com to fill out your application then call for an appointment.
ALL PROBATE MATTERS WILL BE FILED BY MAIL OR THROUGH OUR DROP BOX THAT IS IN THE LOBBY OF THE COURTHOUSE.
Weapons Carry License and Marriage License are by APPOINTMENT ONLY. You must apply online at www.georgiaprobaterecords.com before an appointment can be made. Upon completing the application online you will be given a confirmation number. Please call us at 770.467.4341 with that confirmation number to make an appointment.
AT THIS TIME FOR WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE APPLICANTS WE ARE REQUESTING THAT YOU COME ALONE. IF YOU ARE IN NEED OF ASSISTANCE BECAUSE OF A DISABILITY PLEASE LET US KNOW AT THE TIME YOUR APPOINTMENT IS MADE. WE ARE STILL ADHEREING TO THE SOCIAL DISTANCING RULES AND THERE IS NOT ENOUGH ROOM FOR EXTRA PEOPLE. AGAIN, PLEASE WEAR A MASK.
FOR MARRIAGE APPLICANTS WE ASK THAT ONLY THE COUPLE WHO IS APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE COME TO THE SECOND FLOOR AT YOUR APPOINTED TIME. AGAIN, PLEASE WEAR A MASK.
Weapon’s Carry License Hours of Acceptance:
Call the Probate Court for an appointment at 770-467-4341
Weapon’s Carry License Fee:
The fee for A WCL will be $78.25 for a new license or a license renewal that is expired over 30 days.
We accept the following forms of payment:
- Cash-Must be EXACT change
- Money orders
- Personal Checks – local Spalding County checks only.
(We will not accept a starter check)
- A valid driver’s license reflecting your correct Spalding County address. If it does not show your correct Spalding County address, please contact our office for additional information.
- If you were born outside of the United States please call our office for further information.
In order to keep your permit current, it will be necessary for you to renew your permit every five years. Renewals are $35.00. Renewals are allowed no more than 90 days prior to your expiration date and no later than 30 days after the expiration date. Please bring your current permit along with your valid driver’s license to the Spalding County Probate Court.
Lost or Stolen Permits:
Please contact our office immediately at (770) 467-4341.
Please contact a Probate Clerk by calling (770-467-4341.) The office is closed between 12 PM and 1 PM. You will have to leave a voice mail during that time.
Weapons Carry Licenses-Know the Law:
Georgia now reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Georgia permit holders should always familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under the reciprocity program.