To view, Spalding County Commission meetings live: CLICK HERE  or inSpalding TV CLICK HERE




March 16th, 2016

The 2016 Northwest 4-H District Project Achievement was held at Rock Eagle with 675 4-H members from 37 counties in northwest Georgia competing against one another. The competition was a culmination of project work completed over the last 12 months by the 4-H members who were required to give oral presentations and completed project portfolios for this competition.

Isabel Rutledge, 2015-2016 Senior District Board Officer served in a leadership capacity during the competition. Destiny Funderburk was a candidate for Northwest District Senior Board of Directors and Will Samples, Hope Stewart and Elyce Wages were candidates for Northwest District Junior Board of Directors. Hope Stewart was elected to Junior District Board and will serve in the capacity of Vice-President for the 2016-2017 4-H year that will start in August 2016.

Spalding County took 29 participants to the competition. Five 4-H members won the opportunity to compete, in their project areas, on the State level during 4-H State Congress in July: Dani Gibson, Martha Hicks, Hannah Rutledge, Benjamin Rutledge, and Abigail Rutledge.

Those placing in project competition are as follows.

1st place winners:
Hannah Rutledge
Martha Hicks
Taylor Justice
Danyel Drake

Food & Safety Preservation
Performing Arts Piano
Family Resource Management

2nd place winners:
Dani Gibson
Abigail Noulis
Benjamin Rutledge
Nathanial Haulk
Gabriel Whitlock
Will Alexander
Jacob Hayes

Veterinary Science
Outdoor Recreation
Physical, Biological, Earth Science
Plant and Soil Science
Science of Engineering and Mechanics
Physical, Biological, Earth Science

3rd place winners:
Amanda Mayo
Tavaria Daniel
Elyce Wages

Better Breakfast
Science of Engineering and Mechanics

Spalding County 4-H competitors
1st row: Jenna Johnson, Jacob Hayes, Wesley Evans
2nd row: Will Samples, Hannah Rutledge, Destiny Funderburk
3rd row: Elyce Wages, Addy Burrow, Will Alexander
4th row: Carrianna Simmons, Lillie Evans, Tavaria Daniel
5th row: Jeramie Paz, Alecea Hutson, Hope Stewart
6th row: Isabel Rutledge, Tyler Gibson, Nathaniel Haulk, Keiondra Thomas, Taylor Justice, Lexi Bailey, Kristyn Evans, Benjamin Rutledge, Amanda Mayo.
Not pictured: Anna Mayo, Martha Hicks, Dani Gibson, Abigail Noulis

Hope Stewart elected as 4-H Vice President for 2016-2017
Northwest District Junior Board

1st place district winners competing at State
4-H Congress in July
Benjamin Rutledge- Outdoor Recreation,
Hannah Rutledge-Food Safety and Preservation,
Carrianna Simmons Northwest District Representative on the 4- H State Board of Directors
2nd row: Martha Hicks-Performing Arts Piano, Abigail Noulis-History, Dani Gibson-Veterinary Science.

Spalding County, GA